COLLABORATIVE WORK WITH JONEL SCHOLTZ

For the past two months I have had the privilege to collaborate with the renowned and uber talented South African artist JONEL SCHOLTZ for her debut publications in GloMag, which I wrote ekphrastic poems for, edited by the phenomenal Glory Sasikala, who somehow manages to tuck at the heartstrings with her beautifully crafted online magazine. For this month, I give you…

https://www.joomag.com/magazine/mag/0866724001465799379/p1

Echoes of Blue

It took me a while to write to you

I feel such a fool, trying to keep my cool

but you left so suddenly maybe even willingly

anyway, I am still surrounded by you staring at your

coat so blue – I guess it’s true how much I miss you

just the thought of you, your lingering notes floating

around, laughter all around over steaming hot filter

coffee, as you fill a willing void not even thinking about

a possible loved one feeling destroyed – It was not intentional

not even conventional but I feel so blue missing you, your

soothing tone as you shared similar fears, missed chances

broken dreams, even ruby red silent screams whilst smiling

at neighbourly parties, pretending to be what we were not

oh I feel such a fool losing my controlled cool, opening up

your embracing heart, our connection secret although

some would gladly kill it – I could not help the occasional

brush of skin, a soul so keen yet unseen but you knew

me too, I will always remember you, the aura of you, your

constant halo so blue, like the last layer of sky before heaven

gently removes you from this accusatory earth, a necessary rebirth.

The hardest thing for me was to see you off unwillingly but

I know you will see me in the whisper of the wind, your eternal

friend, it will never end – It’s just so unfair how we need to find a

balance, avoid the inevitable challenge and drink from the

peacemaking chalice – Your musky smell remains even though

it left me in chains, only now and then tightening my blue veins

as I smile once again at parties to forget loving rows after your

forced exit – I know I’ve said it but don’t ever forget it, you are

still an invisible part of me, it’s just so hard to play this emotional

card – Daily reminded of you as you left me echoes of blue…

Copyright © Don Beukes 2016

 

Leave a Reply

