Poet Interview #47: Don Beukes

My premiere interview at Walking is still honest Press…

Walking Is Still Honest Press

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? At what age did you start writing? Have you always written poetry? Who/what first inspired you to start writing? Who are your favorite poets?

I used to teach English and Geography for twenty years in Cape Town, South Africa where I am originally from and also in England. English is my second language and Afrikaans was my home language and I’m still learning French. I write in both English and Afrikaans. I guess my creative writing started at high school, where I was given the chance to broaden my imagination in both languages, being fully bilingual. I started writing poetry as an English major student but it was mostly done on notepads even scraps of paper and given to close friends. My English teacher at Belhar High school, Mrs. De Wet, was my inspiration for both reading and writing in English…

View original post 520 more words

Leave a Reply

