My bluzzz

The Lyrical Journal

I was born to feel ‘the blues”
You know, down in my chest
where everything bigger than
me begins, like an ivy slowly
wrapping its vines around my
heart; a memory that seems
obscure, leaving nothing but
familiar remnants of itself

I was born to sing the blues,
the catfish caught on a line,
on long hot nights, swaying
hips, half closed eyes, wailing
steel guitars that play mournful
hymns, crooning my throaty
choruses, healing my lusty
soul, from places I can’t recall

My heart remembers
Somehow it knows….

©Brenda-Lee Ranta
photo courtesy of Pixaby.com

View original post

Leave a Reply

