Finding the Right Anthology

Creative Talents Unleashed

McCord quote.jpgWhile in my college years, I was surprised to find a Caribbean Literature class available on the curriculum. I jumped at the chance to take it, because I was ashamed to say I did not know of any writers from the islands. When I opened the textbook, The Oxford Book of Caribbean Short Stories, I was surprised to see so many authors from Trinidad included. The work of V.S. Naipaul and Earl Lovelace captured my attention. Their stories stirred memories I left behind. I never spoke much about my culture unless someone asked, but these authors made me realize how much more I had to give in my writing.

Victory started his scissors clicking again, but did not touch it to Pascal’s head, ‘No. Serious. I mean it. I could just plug in that machine, that clipper and put it on your head, and you will give me the…

View original post 506 more words

Leave a Reply

