Day of Atonement – Author Brenda-Lee Ranta

Creative Talents Unleashed

I will not be witness to the death of democracy;

today I shall ‘sit Shiva,’ cover my mirrors, cover

my television, sit upon a milking stool and weep

In silent meditation I will send supplications to

the universe for humanity, throwing dirt upon the

casket of equanimity, as a final tribute to altruism

Today will be my Cheng Beng’ of alms giving

to all that is lost, the love that was voted away;

there will be no merriment, no celebration

I shall wake on Saturday morning, but life as

I knew it will be gone; with trepidation I shall

await their remorse, too late for deeds undone

I will look to the sky and mourn

I will look to the sky for God

I will look to the sky for mercy

© Brenda-Lee Ranta

allegories

Excerpt from the book “Allegories”


brenda-leeAbout the Author

Brenda-Lee Ranta resides in Timmins, Ontario, Canada. She…

View original post 192 more words

Leave a Reply

